Skip to content

Nextcloud always makes a local copy of uploaded contents #13400

Description

@jjmacid

⚠️ Before posting ⚠️

  • This is a bug, not a question or an enhancement.
  • I've searched for similar issues and didn't find a duplicate.
  • I've written a clear and descriptive title for this issue, not just "Bug" or "Crash".
  • I agree to follow Nextcloud's Code of Conduct.

Steps to reproduce

Whenever you choose to upload a folder or file, you can choose between 3 options:

  • Move the file to the Nextcloud folder
  • Keep the file in the original folder
  • Delete the file from the original folder

It doesn't matter which option you choose, Nextcloud for Android will always make a copy of the uploaded file to the configured local folder, in: Settings > Data storage folder, which can point to internal storage / emulated or to the SDCard.

This will happen even when there isn't any "Automatic load" folder configured in settings.

Any suggestion will be welcome, since I have serious problems in order to upload my contents from the phone, because I need to free the same size that I want to upload in my phone SDCard or internal memory, because no matter what or how, Nextcloud forces the uploaded content to be copied on local storage.

Expected behaviour

Nextcloud should never copy the uploading files /folders anywhere, not even if they are synchronized folders, because they are supposed to be synchronized in the same original local folder. But in any case, they should never be copied if there is no "automatic load" or "sync" configuration enabled.

Actual behaviour

Nextcloud copies all the files, all the folders that you're going to upload to its "Data storage folder", even if you choose to "Move the file to nextcloud" or "Delete file from the original folder".

Android version

13 (One UI, Samsung)

Device brand and model

Samsung S20+ and Samsung S20 FE

Stock or custom OS?

Stock

Nextcloud android app version

3.29.2

Nextcloud server version

29.0.4

Using a reverse proxy?

No

Android logs

No response

Server error logs

No response

Additional information

No response

Activity

  1. added
    hotspot: device storageStorage (on-device) related. Permissions, paths, inconsistencies, etc.
    feature: transfers[WIP] Any uploading / downloading matters that aren't auto upload or sync specific
    on Sep 5, 2024
  2. szotsaki commented on Oct 11, 2024

    @szotsaki

    I can confirm the same behaviour (with the same client version). This is especially problematic since there's no way to remove these cached files (see #9128 for the details).

    Basically, what happens today when Everyday User uploads multiple files:

    1. File gets uploaded, everyone is happy
    2. Nextcloud secretly creates a local copy (as in not visible or known to Everyday User)
    3. Everyday User complains that the phone space ran out
    4. Someone who is familiar with this and the other bug takes care of the issue by deleting all local Nextcloud data, including auth info
    5. Everyday User is asked to log in again...
    6. Rinse and repeat depending on how much space the phone has

    Please, fix the root cause by removing the logic of an additional copy while uploading.

  3. joshtrichards commented on Oct 26, 2024

    @joshtrichards
    Member

    Related: #5592

  4. jjmacid commented on Nov 6, 2025

    @jjmacid
    Author

    Hello, can anyone update on this issue, because it's impossible that after 5 years it still exists. Can you clarify:

    1/ Is it a problem that will always exist because of Google Play blocking something and we must download the F-Droid version or this problem occurs also in the F-Droid version? (Note: Does Google Play force to check the source code? If so, Businesses that publish their commercial apps must show their code?)

    2/ Is it a security problem when copying files from DCIM folders that prevent NextCloud to delete the original local file in that DCIM folder? If so, why Nextcloud creates a local copy of the files? It doesn't make any sense to duplicate the file and then delete the duplicate when "Move file to the server" is requested. But, anyway, the problem is that it didn't even delete the duplicate.

    So please clarify if possible the situation, cause I think there are too many unanswered Issues that point to the same question.

  5. reopened this on Nov 6, 2025
Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    bugfeature: transfers[WIP] Any uploading / downloading matters that aren't auto upload or sync specifichotspot: device storageStorage (on-device) related. Permissions, paths, inconsistencies, etc.stable-3.29

    Type

    No type

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      No milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions