Skip to content

No way to retain user preferences on version update #749

Description

@nehbit

Hi there,

Thanks for creating this! It's been super helpful — I've been using this for more than a year now.

One thing I noticed is that this extension does not appear to conform to how Sublime structures extensions, as a result, every time a new version of this plugin is released, the plugin-wide settings will be deleted. The reason why is that there appears to be no way of setting a 'user' settings file for extension wide settings.

To illustrate, these are the options on my Sublime:

1 Preferences > Package Settings > Typescript > Plugin Settings — Default
Works

2 Preferences > Package Settings > Typescript > Plugin Settings — User
Does not exist, redirects to general user settings of the whole of Sublime text

3 Preferences > Package Settings > Typescript > Typescript Settings — Default
Works

4 Preferences > Package Settings > Typescript > Typescript Settings — User
Works

The #2 needs to exist so that the users have a place to save their own configuration that is retained across updates. This is not so simple as just creating the file, because the way the config files are named makes impossible for #2 to exist. Like this:

In a hypothetical Sublime extension called 'Acme', there are two config files:

1 One called Acme.sublime-settings and it lives in Packages/User. This is the user's own config file that persists between updates
2 One called Acme/Preferences.sublime-settings. This lives in Packages/Acme and this is the file that gets deleted and recreated when the extension updates

The issue with this package is that there are two config file sets — in the extension folder, there is both Typescript.sublime-settings and 'Preferences.sublime-settings. The former is the extension settings (let's say ExtConf) and the latter is the typescript settings (TSConf). The issue is that this doesn't work — ST will try to create a Typescript.sublime-settingsin the User folder to match thePreferences.sublime-settings` as the user version of the ExtConf, but that is the file that is being looked for the user version of the TSConf by the extension, and not for the user version of the ExtConf. This makes it so that it is impossible to retain user's own extension preferences for this extension across updates.

Here's one example of two-config-file setup that does it right:
https://github.com/victorporof/Sublime-HTMLPrettify

Hope this helps.

No activity

Activity on this issue will appear here.

Activity

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    No labels
    No labels

    Type

    No type

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      No milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions