Repository navigation
Ensure files are saved on close #3899
Description
Activity
- addedbugSomething isn't workingSomething isn't working
on Mar 6, 2023 Sync before saving is what we did in the past and i think it's the least intrusive and easiest change - even though it will require another roundtrip.
- moved this to 🧭 Planning evaluation (don't pick) in 📝 Productivity team
on Mar 22, 2023 6 remaining items
- moved this from 🧭 Planning evaluation (don't pick) to 🏗️ In progress in 📝 Productivity team
on Jul 10, 2023 @blizzz I'm also still noticing this behavior. It's especially troublesome because re-opening the file and clicking the save icon has no effect. The user must first make some other change to the file before clicking the save button, in order for it to actually write anything to disk.
Apologies if the fix is still in progress, I don't mean to create a rush! 😅
@DavidMikeSimon actually i cannot reproduce this behaviour anymore. Do you have some reliable reproduction steps perhaps?
@blizzz Here is how I'm able to reproduce it:
- Outside of NextCloud, create a file
foo.txtwith contentsABC, in a location that NextCloud can see via an external storage mount. - Open file in NextCloud Text. Edit contents to
XYZ. Immediately close the file using the X icon, without clicking the checkmark icon. - ❗ File on disk has the out-of-date contents
ABC. - Refresh NextCloud. Open the file in NextCloud Text, where the file appears to contain
XYZ. However the file on disk still containsABC. - Click the checkmark icon for the file in NextCloud Text. The file on disk still just contains
ABC.
Nextcloud version: 27.0.2
Text app version: 3.8.0Reacted by Arthur Schiwon- Outside of NextCloud, create a file
Thanks @DavidMikeSimon.
I was able to reproduce this. I think there are two issues at play here:- Closing the viewer should remove the editor view and save the content - need to investigate what's happening there.
- We don't save anything if there have not been any changes by the current user - but we should probably only do that when it comes to autosaving - but still save on click.
@blizzz Will unassign you as it looks more like a frontend issue ;)
Reacted by Arthur Schiwon- moved this from 🏗️ In progress to 🧭 Planning evaluation (don't pick) in 📝 Productivity team
on Apr 17, 2024 Under 28.0.9, we can still reproduce the issue sometimes: When you close a text document without clicking save, a part of your unsaved contents is lost. And: that does not only happen on external storage.
Reacted by ppom and Mario MorvanThis should be solved nowadays. Please report if you still experience this problem.
- moved this from 🧭 Planning evaluation (don't pick) to ☑️ Done in 📝 Productivity team
on Apr 27, 2026
Metadata
Metadata
Assignees
Labels
Type
Projects
- StatusShow more project fields☑️ Done
Describe the bug
Sometimes closing the editor won't save the file.
The sync request goes out but since the version has not increased it does not save anything.
To Reproduce
Steps to reproduce the behavior:
xto close viewer directly afterExpected behavior
Closing the viewer should always save the file
Will provide logs once i recorded them.
Background
When typing the changes are send out via the push endpoint.
However the version counter will only increment once a sync request happened.
In the meantime save requests will still have the same version and be ignored.
Possible solutions
Increment version on push
We could increase the version whenever we push - but this would require including all intermediate changes by others in the answer to the push request. The version counter is mainly used to not fetch steps over and over again - so we cannot just increase it as that would lead to ignoring relevant steps.
Sync before saving
We could also use two requests for saving - one to ensure the current version is up to date and then one to actually save the file.